2022 Award Winners

We were proud to bestow several national awards that represent outstanding individuals, programs, and groups throughout the country in 2022. From students excelling during unparalleled times and new leaders working on diversity efforts to some of the most recognized names in our professional community, this year’s recipients illustrate the dedication and selflessness of those in our field. The following people were honored with awards in 2022.

AEHAP Student Research Competition Winners


  • Collin Oriente, West Chester University
  • Pilar Santos, Montana State University


  • Nana-Obaayaa Owusu, East Carolina University
  • Jordan Williams, East Carolina University

Davis Calvin Wagner Sanitarian Award

  • CAPT Charles S. Otto, III, REHS, DAAS  (retired)

Joe Beck Educational Contribution Award

  • Robert Powitz, MPH, PhD, RS, CP-FS, DABFET, DLAAS

NEHA/AAS Scholarships


  • Michelle Leonard, Montana State University
  • Haley Ritchie, The University of Findlay


  • Mindy Chambrelli, University of New England

NEHA Affiliate Certificates of Merit 


  • Joshua Skeggs (CO)
  • Stephen Yenco (CT)
  • Ilda Bengui (National Capital Area)
  • Michael Crea (FL)
  • Robin Raijean (IA)
  • Everton Baker (Jamaica)
  • Carolyn Picard Bombet (LA)
  • Rike Sterrett (MA)
  • Jason Kloss (MN)
  • Tosa Dyer (MO)
  • Kira Flagstead (MT)
  • Aimee Puluso (NJ)
  • Nikki Burns Savage (NV)
  • J. Victor Baldovinos (TX)
  • CDR Jamie Mutter (Uniformed Services)
  • Steve Alder (UT)
  • Josie Prince (WY)
  • Jaqueline Summer Burpee Beard (posthumously, AL)


  • CT - Yankee Conference Organizers – Kevin Elak, Dianne Harding, Mariam Hosseini and Scott Cook
  • FL - The 2021 FEHA Annual Conference Committee – Kimberly Stockdale, Gary Frank, Tim Wallace, Greg Crumpton, Michael Crea, Ed Bettinger, DaJuane Harris, and Trisha Dall
  • IA - IEHA Scholarship Committee - Sandy Bubke, Robin Raijean, Jessica Sheridan, Matt Even, Bridget Mohler
  • MA - SAPHE 2.0 Act - Massachusetts Public Health Nurses Association 
  • MT - Retail Food Standards Program – The Environmental Health Section of Riverstone Health. Leadership for the Retail Food team has been Marilyn Tapia and Clark Snyder.
  • NEHA Past Presidents Affiliate - Ad Hoc Bylaws Committee - Mel Knight (Chair), Alicia Collins, Brian Collins, Robert Custard and Gary Coleman
  • SC - Betsy Seals and M. L. Tanner – for their research projects "Emerging Compounds in Public Drinking Water” and “Is the time right for South Carolina to develop a Lead Authorization Program.”

NEHA Past Presidents Award

  • Michéle Samarya-Timm, MA, HO, MCHES, REHS, DLAAS

NEHA Presidential Citations

For exceptional service to the NEHA-FDA Retail Flexible Funding Model Grant Program:

  • Dr. Mike Randhawa
  • Jaclyn Miller
  • Rance Baker
  • Maribeth Niesen
  • Rosie DeVito
  • Art Johnstone

For superior organization and execution in support of the 2021 NEHA office relocation:

  • Michael Newman
  • Cole Wilson
  • Steven Dourdis

In recognition of outstanding service and leadership on the Board of Directors during the last year:

  • Dr. D. Gary Brown

In recognition of outstanding service and support during my entire tenure on the NEHA Board of Directors:

  • Tiffany Gaertner

NSF Student Research Scholar

  • Carli Koenig, Missouri Southern State University

Walter F. Snyder Award

  • CAPT Luis O. Rodriguez, MS, REHS/RS, CP-FS, CPO, DAAS